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	CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS
LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION APPLICATION
	Check One:  |_| RN $190      |_| LPN $170



· COMPACT INFORMATION: Virginia is a compact state under the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). If your Primary State of Residence (PSOR) is a compact state, you must apply for licensure in your PSOR (home state).  Primary state of residence (PSOR) is defined by the NLC as: the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for legal purposes.  If your PSOR is Virginia or a non-compact state you must obtain a Virginia license to practice as a nurse in Virginia. Please indicate on the application your primary state of residence. For a current list of states in the NLC and NURSYS participating states go to: www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVJurisdictions.aspx. 

· REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application By Examination. Please check applicable items that are submitted with your application:

[bookmark: Check3]|_|	Completed application and required fee: acceptable fees include payment by credit/debit card (online applicants only); or if required to apply by mail, include check or money order made payable to Treasurer of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment and fees are non-refundable.

|_|	Completed criminal history background check required by Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt which contains a VBON Fieldprint Code required to register for fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint Va. *Online applicants will also see their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist instructions page. *If you apply by mail, you must contact the VBON CBC unit for your Fieldprint Code that is required to register for fingerprinting. More information regarding the CBC may be found at VBON CBC Info.

{*Note: A Paper application must be submitted by mail if you do not have a social security number (SSN) or Virginia DMV Control Number. If submitting a paper application, the fee (check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia) must be sent to the VBON address}.  

|_|	Official Transcript or Attestation of Graduation* (in lieu of transcript) sent directly to the VBON from your nursing education program: The official transcript/attestation must include, student identifying information, name of program, date(s) of enrollment, type of nursing program (LPN/RN) and the date of graduation/degree conferred. Please check with your nursing program before requesting a transcript. Your nursing program will determine if you need a transcript submitted or if they will provide the attestation letter.  Submitting both the transcript and attestation letter may slow the processing time as it will be duplicate information that needs to be processed.

· Transcripts/Attestations are also accepted electronically from the school/transcript processing service (e.g. Parchment or eScript) at transcriptsbyexam@dhp.virginia.gov. 
· Emailed transcripts should include a student’s first/last name in the email subject line.

|_|	Graduates of nursing schools located in other states - Verification of Clinical Hours: Request your nursing program to submit the following to the VBON: A letter on school letterhead, specific to you, that includes the name of the course, the type of clinical experience completed in each course, and the number of clock hours per subject and overall.  Registered Nurse applicants must have completed a minimum of 500 direct client care hours across the lifespan and Licensed Practical Nurse applicants must have completed a minimum of 400 direct client care hours across the lifespan. For more information regarding clinical hours see Guidance Document 90-28 on the Board’s website at www.dhp.virginia.gov.nursing/guidancedocuments. 
	
|_|	CGFNS Professional Report: Exam licensure applicants educated in a foreign country must request the CES Professional Report from Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) and request that it be made available to the VBON. For more information refer to the Board of Nursing Regulation 18 VAC 90-20-210. To contact CGFNS you may call 215-349-8767 or visit their website at www.cgfns.org. 

NOTE: Canadian RN Nurses who have taken the CRNE may apply for licensure by Endorsement.

|_|	Register with Pearson Vue: Online at www.pearsonvue.com/nclex or by phone at 1-866-496-2539.  You can pay with either credit or debit using one of the following: Visa, MasterCard or American Express.	
											
· Supporting Documents: 

· Official transcript/attestation: Mailed or emailed to the VBON directly from your nursing program. 
· If requesting accommodations: Letter from treating physician and applicant,
· If a graduate from an out of state school:  Letter from nursing education program detailing clinical hours 
· Certified Copies of Court Documents, if applicable. 
· Name Change: If your name on the Transcript or any additional documentation you are required to submit (i.e. court documents) is different from the name on your application, submit a copy of your name change document (i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, naturalization certificate, or legal name change document) issued by the court.

· Additional Information:

· Contact your nursing program registrar’s office to see if your school transmits an Attestation of Graduation* (Attestation) since it is up to the school to determine how they will transmit transcript information directly to the VBON.  If your nursing program elects to send an Attestation to VBON, the student does not need to request a transcript.

· License application processing times are between 30-45 business days to complete.

· Periodically log into your DHP license application portal: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx to monitor progress of your application and remember “unchecked” items may have been received but are pending review.

· Documents submitted with the application are property of the VBON and cannot be returned.

· An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit.  If not completed within one year, a new application may be necessary.

· Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing. 






End of instructions.
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