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Proposed Fast-Track Amendment for
Standards for State-Funded Remedial Programs
8 VAC 20-630

8 VAC 20-630-10 Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this regulation, shall have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Eligible students” are those students who meet either (i) the criteria identifying students who are
educationally at risk which has been established by the local school board, or (ii) the state criteria
identifying students who are educationally at risk as specified in §22.1-253.13:1.

“Regular instructional day” means the length of the school day in which instruction is provided for all
children, but excluding before and after school programs for state-funded remedial programs.
“Regular school year” means the period of time during which the local school division provides
instruction to meet the Standards of Quality, exclusive of summer school, Saturday sessions, or
intercession periods.

““State-funded remedial programs’ include those programs defined in the local school division’s
remediation plan which serve eligible students from state funding sources.

8 VAC 20-630-20 Remediation plan developmentand-approval.

Each local school division shall develop a local remediation plan designed to strengthen and improve the

academlc achlevement of ellglble students l:ee&laeheeLdM&ens—shaH—sabmHhes&pl&ns&PaﬂmeJte

8 VAC 20-630-30 Individual student record.

Each local school division shall record, for each eligible student attending a state-funded remedial
program: (i) the state or local criteria used to determine eligibility; (ii) the expected remediation goal for
the student in terms of a target score on a locally designed or selected test which measures the SOL
content being remediated; and (iii) whether the student did or did not meet the expected remediation
goal.

8 VAC 20-630-40 Program evaluation.
Each local school division shall annually evaluate and modify, as appropriate, their remediation plan

based on an analysis of the percentage of students meeting their remediation goals. The pass rate on the
Standards of Learning assessments shall also be a measure of the effectiveness of the remedial program.



8 VAC 20-630-6050 Teacher qualifications and staffing ratios.

Each local school division implementing a state-funded remedial summer school program shall provide
a minimum of 20 hours of instruction per subject, exclusive of field trips, assemblies, recreational
activities, lunch or post-program testing time.

For state-funded remedial summer school programs in grades K-5 that offer an integrated curriculum, a
minimum of 40 hours of instruction shall be required.

The pupil-teacher ratios for state-funded summer remedial programs shall not exceed 18:1.

Individuals who provide instruction in the state-funded remedial programs shall be licensed to teach in
Virginia or work under the direct supervision of an individual who is licensed to teach in Virginia; be
qualified to provide instruction in the area to be remediated; and be trained in remediation techniques.

8 VAC 20-630-7060 Transportation formula.

Pursuant to the provisions of the state’s Appropriation Act, funding for transportation services provided
for students who are required to attend state-funded remedial programs outside the regular instructional
day shall be based on a per pupil per day cost multiplied by the number of student days the program
operates (i.e., the number of instructional days the state-funded remedial programs are offered multiplied
by the number of students who attend the state-funded remedial programs). The per pupil per day cost
shall be based on the latest prevailing cost data used to fund pupil transportation through the Standards
of Quality.

For state-funded remedial programs that operate on days that are in addition to the regular school year,
100 percent of the per pupil per day cost shall be used in the formula. For state-funded remedial
programs that begin before or end after the regular instructional day, 50 percent of the per pupil per day
cost shall be used in the formula. The state share of the payment shall be based on the composite index.



